Wednesday, July 4, 2012

Firecracker 4

Happy 4th of July!!!  So this morning I ran a race with my brother ran a 4 mile race at the same time as my brother.  He finished 13th in his age group, in 24:58...I did it in 47:35...My goal was to do under 48 minutes, I wanted to maintain a 12 min mile pace.  It was crazy hot, high 80's and blazing sun.  I tried to stay in the shade of the trees as much as possible, because there was a bit of a breeze.  I wanted to stop running and walk so badly, but I didn't, I would've felt like I failed if I did.  I just kept plugging along, people were walking all around me.  This is my biggest pet peeve, of being a slow runner, a lot of people walk and then run around me and it drives me crazy when they finish faster than me.  I guess I need to get over that and just worry about competing with myself.  I can't believe how far I have come, in December I could barely run a quarter of a mile and now today I ran 4 miles.

On the weight loss front, the weight is still coming off.  I am down about 34 pounds since January 1.  Size 14 clothes are big on me, but 12 is still too tight.  I bought my reward for getting under 200 pounds yesterday, a Pandora turtle charm.  Why a turtle you might ask, because slow and steady wins the race, that is my fitness motto.

Well it's time for the kids to go to bed.  Hope you had a great 4th of July.

Sunday, June 10, 2012

Holding Pattern...

Well it's been awhile.  I have lost 29.4 pounds, I am currently 200.6 lbs, I've been stuck here for 2 weeks, so close to being under 200 lbs yet so far.  I know it will happen, I just need to be patient...my reward for getting under 200 is going to be a turtle Pandora charm.  Why a turtle you might ask?  Because slow and steady wins the race.  Once I reach goal number one, to be under 200, I need to set goal number two.  What should it be?  I think my goal weight is going to be 140-150, I figure a range is better to shoot for than a specific number.  That goal is still 50 lbs away, so I need an in between goal.

On the running front, things have been improving quite nicely.  Who would've thought that I would think of a 3 mile run as not a big deal.  Last weekend I ran in the Freihofer's Run for Women.  I ran it last year, with a couple walk breaks in 45:44, this year I RAN it in 37:01.  I was quite proud of myself, I took 9 minutes off my time.  I think I could have done it in 36 minutes if the beginning of the race wasn't so congested, but either way I'm proud of myself.  I am up to running about 16 miles a week, with one rest day.  My long run was 3.75 miles today, it felt really good.

Let's hope by the end of the week I make another post announcing that I am officially under 200 lbs!!!

Saturday, April 28, 2012

23 down 67 to go...

I need to try and get better at posting at least weekly.  A month or so ago I started using myfitnesspal.com to track food and exercise.  I LOVE it, I have the app on my phone so I can add stuff all the time, there is a neat bar code scanner function to scan a food item instead of searching for it, it is awesome.  My weight loss has picked up considerable since I started using myfitnesspal.com.  Running has been going well I ran 2.75 miles this morning in 35 mins, last week I ran my first 5K (my third actual race, but this time I ran the whole thing)  I feel great!  

One of the other neat thing about myfitnesspal.com is that at the end of the day you close the food log.  When you do this is says "If every day is like today in 5 weeks you will weigh _____".  I find this very motivating, if I continue at this rate I will be under 200 lbs by Memorial Day weekend.  I am so excited about this, I can't remember the last time I was under 200 lbs.  I need to get an updated picture to post, maybe I'll do that tomorrow.  

I'm going to try to do a post every week on Saturday.  My next race is June 2nd, 5K, hoping for a time under 40 mins

Saturday, April 21, 2012

Ran a 5k

Today I participated in my 3rd road race...but this one I actually ran the entire thing...I wasn't fast but I RAN.  My time was 40:19, I tried to get there under 40 mins but my legs could only go so fast.  I have lost 21 pounds since January.  Things are going real well, can't wait to start getting more miles in...

Friday, March 30, 2012

This is a recent picture of me...my current weight this morning at 6 am is  drum roll.....210 pounds...that is 20 pounds lost so far.  I am up to 2.5 miles for my long runs and almost a total of 8 miles for the week.  I feel great.  I started using the app my fitness pal, it is amazing.  I highly recommend it to anyone interested in counting calories.  I just ordered some new sneakers and a nice new running hat (the hat in the picture)  I am registered for a 5K on April 21, I am really excited as I am confident I will be able to run the entire race.  I can not wait.  Last year I "ran" my first ever 5K in 45:44, this year I'm hoping for 38 minutes.  That's all for now...off to do some laundry.

Saturday, March 17, 2012

Happy St. Patrick's Day

Well it has been a little while since I posted.  I'm still down 13ish pounds I keep fluctuating between 220 and 217...ugh...so frustrating.  Today I decided to log back into my myfitnesspal account and start tracking my calorie intake.  We will see how this goes.  I am up to running 2 miles for my long run, next week will be 2.25 miles for the long run.  I am getting closer and closer to completing a 5K...so exciting.

I registered this week for the Freihofer's Run for Women, on June 2.  I ran this race last year, my first 5K ever, it was amazing.  I ran it in 45:44, not too bad for never have run more than 1 mile.  I ran most of the race...I probably walked a mile of it all together...I would run then walk a bit then run...This year I plan to RUN the whole thing.  I'm hoping to do it in under 40mins, more specifically 38 minutes.  On April 21 I'm planning on running the Great Moms 5K, I'm hoping to do that in less than 40 also, but I will be just at running 3 miles on my long runs so we'll see how it goes.

That's it for now...I should really get cleaning or something...I'm still in my pjs...

Thursday, March 1, 2012

Just an Update...

Well it has been a couple of weeks...I'm plugging along...keeping up with my running schedule and trying to eat healthy.  I'm so far down a total of 12 pounds.  I had my husband take a picture of me today, I realized I probably don't have a good picture to be a before picture...I'm up to running 1.75 miles...I am so glad I have my friend Joe to help with a training schedule.  I have decided I love love love to run outside...and do not like the treadmill at all.  We got some snow, finally, here in upstate NY, and I couldn't run outside yesterday or today...but I got on the treadmill and got my miles in.  I'm registering for two 5K races, The Great Mom 5 K in April and the Freihofer's Run for Women in June.  I need to find a 10K and maybe 15K to do some time during the summer...or early fall before the half marathon.  I have been counting calories using Sparkpeople.com  I really hate calorie counting, but I want some way to log my calories in.  I feel, weight wise, I'm a little stuck right now, I'm trying not to get frustrated but it is hard.  We did have company last weekend and I was off all week so my diet wasn't as on spot as it should've been.  I can do this I know I can I just need to stick with it and not give up.

How's everyone else out there doing?

Thursday, February 9, 2012

10 Pounds down!!!

Well I know it has been awhile, but nothing too exciting has been happening.  I've been working at my running and healing my poor shins.  I have continued to stay away from sweets and I have lost a total of 10 pounds since January 1st.  I am slowly upping my mileage every week with extra rest days, to make sure that I don't get injured.  I am currently up to 1.25 miles for my "long" run on the weekends...I'm trying not to get discouraged that I will need to run 11.85 more miles on October 7th...I know I will get there...Slow and steady wins the race...right?


I don't know how many people read this, but what kind of low carb/high protein meal ideas do you have?  I've been pretty much eating the same thing everyday...

Breakfast - English Muffin with peanut butter a glass of milk

Lunch - water, greek yogurt, something leftover from dinner the night before, a piece of fruit

Dinner - meat (chicken, ground beef, fish, turkey...) a carb (my boys and husband like their potatoes and noodles) I only eat a little of the carb and a big helping of veggies.


Snack - not every night, but on some I might have graham crackers with PB, a piece of fruit a small bowl of cereal.


I'm not getting bored with what I'm eating I'm just looking for ideas...mostly for breakfast and lunch...







Sunday, January 22, 2012

Injury

Ugh...so frustrating...there is something up with my ankle.  I ran yesterday got done and could barely walk.  So its been ice and elevation since yesterday morning and staying off it as much as possible.  I really am bummed not to have run today...I've never felt this way about exercise before.  I'm trying not to get down, I'm really going to watch my food intake.  Not sure if I'll go to the Dr or not...we shall see..

Friday, January 13, 2012

My healthy eating plan...

  I don't want to say  the dreaded "diet" word...when I think of diet it is something you go on and then go off .  I can not do something with the intent of going off of it, if I do I will gain the weight back.  I know what I am doing about the calories spent part of weight loss, running,  but now I need to work on the calories taken in part.  I do not like to count things, calories or points or journaling my food.  I find it annoying and it is something I don't want to do the rest of my life.  I have been on countless diets and I have had success but I just can't seem to stick to it.  Three years ago I did the South Beach Diet, I did really well I lost about 60 pounds, I have since gained 30 of that back.  The low carb aspect of the South Beach Diet works for me.  My body just can not deal with sugar, I need to stay away I can't even eat one bite.  I swear if I eat too many carbs I gain 5 pounds over night.  I feel bloated and get headaches.  So here is my plan, I'm going to stay away from sugar PERIOD, not all carbs, I'll still eat some potatoes or rice or bread, I don't seem to have such a love/hate relationship with those carbs.  I started my healthy eating plan on January 3, it has been 10 days, I did have one small bowl of ice cream a week ago, but since then nothing, no desserts, no candy, no sweets.  I eat breakfast, lunch and dinner and have a small snack after my run in the evening.  I feel fine, I'm not craving anything, it seems to be working well.  I am not drinking soda or juices,  I have one cup of coffee in the morning with a little cream and one equal packet and water the rest of the day.  Since I started this I have lost 6 pounds, I guess maybe it is working.  I don't feel as if I am sacrificing anything.  I've been trying to eat a green salad every night with dinner and eat at least 2 pieces of fruit.   I am hoping that this way of eating and running at least 1 mile everyday, I can lose at least 2 pounds a week.  I'm sure there will be some point in time where I am tempted with some cake or cookies, but I hope I have the willpower to just say no, I am working to hard to let a cookie set me back.

Thursday, January 12, 2012

One Month In


 Me and my youngest son, Cooper, at Disney World Aug 2011 
(225 lbs)

I've never done this before, so bare with me...
     A month ago, December 13, an email came to my work email, our principal wanted to start a Forrest Gump  challenge among the faculty.  I went to the classroom next door and said to my friend, I think I want to do the Forrest Gump thing.  He said "Go for it, I think it would be great for you" so I signed up...the rules were simple, run at least 1 mile EVERYDAY or do 20 mins of cardio.  My husband had bought me a treadmill for Christmas, so now was the time to start using it.  I went home that first night and tried to run/jog 1 mile...I could barely run 0.25 miles...but I did 1 mile on the treadmill.  Then the next day I came home and did the same thing...day after day...I plugged away at just tring to run the entire mile.  About one week in I could actually run the entire mile in somewhere around 13 minutes.  I started to really enjoy my daily run/jog, I did it faithfully everyday, until, Christmas.  I bailed on my run on Christmas day and my back was so sore the next day.  I haven't missed a day since.  Next Tuesday will be the final day of the challenge at school, but I plan to keep on going.  I have gone from not being able to run a full mile to running 1.85 miles without walking.  One night I just said I'm going to run for as long as I can until I feel I have to walk, I made it 25 minutes.  I might not be very fast but, at least I'm moving. As of today, I am the ONLY Forrest Gump challenger that has only missed ONE day...I am so proud of myself for not giving up...and most of the competitors in the challenge are very fit people, Ironmen, lifeguards, aerobics instructors, runners...and me the overweight mom of two...

     Now that you know what got me started on this adventure of Dumpy 2 Diva, I'll tell you what I am working toward.  I am about 80 pounds over weight, I have finally realized I need to do something about that.  Once I started running and enjoying it my sister, who is an avid runner, told me she wants me to run the Diva Half Marathon with her in October 2012.  So that is where the Diva part comes in.  I have enlisted the help of my friend, Joe the Ironman,  to help me train for this race.  Joe and I work together, which makes it very helpful for encouragement and accountability.  As with the Forrest Gump challenge at school, I didn't want to be the disappointment, I didn't want to the be the "fat" girl that didn't accomplish what she set out to.  I am on a mission, I want 2012 to be the beginning of a new healthier life for me.

Wish me luck...